Philoptochos, meaning "friend of the poor," is an organization within many Greek Orthodox Churches nationally. Here at the Assumption, we are fortunate to have a great group of Women who continually strive to provide the missions of Philoptochos within our parish. Since the 1950's, our Philoptochos Chapter has donated funds towards our beloved Parish, helped parishoners in need, contribute to charities both Orthodox & non-Orthodox related.

The missions of Philoptochos nationally are:

  • to aid the poor, the destitute, the hungry, the aged, the sick, the unemployed, the orphaned, the imprisoned, the widow, the handicapped, the victims of disasters, to undertake the burial of the impoverished persons and to offer assistance to anyone who my need the help of the Church through fund raising efforts; and
  • to promote the charitable, benevolent and philanthropic purposes of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America, through instructional programs, presentations, lectures, seminars and other educational resources;
  • to preserve and perpetuate Orthodox Christian concepts and the Orthodox Christian Family, and through them, to promote the Greek Orthodox Faith and traditions, in accordance with its doctrines, canons, discipline, divine worship, usages and customs;
  • to promote the participation in the activities of the Greek Orthodox community, with the cooperation of the Parish Priest and the Parish Council.

Our organization continues to work towards these missions as well as spread philanthropy within the parish and community.

We hope to gain more members in the coming year to help us raise more funds thus providing more to charities and those in need. Please sign up below for more information or to become a member!

For more information regarding Philoptochos Nationally, log onto

Our Philoptochos Board:

President: Flora Dimitriou
1st Vice- President: Helena Magafas Brown
2nd Vice-President: Keve Gialouris
Recording Secretary: RoseMarie Harpole
Corresponding Secretary: Pat Darter
Treasurer: Angie Koulouriotis
Assistant Treasurer: Diane Sieckmann

Advisor: Elefteria (Soula) Marcou

The Board of Directors also includes:

Yvonne Alexopoulos

Despina M. Bellos

Popi Deros

Amalia Karakasis

Bessie Theodorou